Service Forum for Lennox HVAC Owners and Servicers.
Enter Our Parts Store | Forum Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Repairing and Servicing Lennox Products
 Repairing / Servicing Lennox Gas Furnaces
 Pulse 21 Problems
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

windguy

8 Posts

Posted - 12/06/2009 :  5:38:25 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Some of the other threads have very similar symptoms for different heating systems. I do plan on calling the local Lennox service company tomorrow, but was curious what the online experts think might be the problem. I hate calling in a tech since I'm a consummate DIYer but I have no experience with heating systems.

The system was installed in 1993 by the previous home owner and since 1997 it's never been serviced. I changed the blower motor myself last summer during the AC months. The one thing I did notice that's changed from last season is the outflow from the direct vent seems a lot less. The system used to spit out a good amount of moisture when starting up but it doesn't seem to do that when the system does turn on. Symptom wise, the automatic ignition system green light comes up, I can hear the purge blower running then the ignition system's relays click for about 5 seconds every 25 or so seconds for about 4 attempts then the purge blower shuts off and the green light flashes. The system has been intermittent the past few weeks but for periods would run okay. Now, the heater will rarely turn. If it does turn on, the blower will run for a few minutes then shut off, so the problem has progressively gotten worse to the point that it's not functional. The fan does work okay by itself if set by the thermostat. And yes, it is cold in the house and I'm in the doghouse until the heater gets fixed

Appreciate any advice
Thanks!

slctech

2085 Posts